BY ALDS. LEWIS, HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PÉREZ, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Mary Ella Dickens, who passed from this life on March 18, 2018.

WHEREAS,

MARY ELLA DICKENS

passed from this life on March 18, 2018, and services were held for family and friends on March 23, 2018 at Divine Temple 5532 W. Hampton Ave.; and

WHEREAS, Mary Ella Dickens was born on September 14, 1933 in Goodman, Mississippi, moved to Milwaukee in 1969, and was gainfully employed at Milwaukee Jewish Convalescent Center until her retirement; and

WHEREAS, Mary Ella Dickens was a faithful member of St. Paul Church of the First Born, and in 1994, her son, Bishop Charles Dickens, and brother, the late Pastor Otha Howard, established Divine Temple of the First Born serving there for nearly 24 years lastly serving as a church mother under her nephew, Pastor Calvin Howard; and

WHEREAS, Mary Ella Dickens leaves to cherish her memory her 17 children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren; and

WHEREAS, Mary Ella Dickens dedicated her life to the care of children, and had four biological children, and opened her arms to children from all walks of life, and was a single parent, and in 1976 became a Single Foster Parent for Milwaukee County, and for more than four decades she took care of over 40 children, and during that time she adopted four children, in addition to helping raise some of her grandchildren and great grandchildren embracing them all; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the family and friends of Mary Ella Dickens recognizes her lasting impact on the community and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this fine, upstanding woman; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Mary Ella Dickens.

Introduced by Common Council members Chantia Lewis, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey, and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 17, 2018.