BY ALDS. SPIKER, PÉREZ, ZAMARRIPA, PRATT, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, COGGS, TAYLOR, DIMITRIJEVIC, STAMPER

Resolution recognizing Don Schaewe on his retirement from the Department of Neighborhood Services.

WHEREAS,

## **DON SCHAEWE**

retired as a residential code enforcement manager with the Department of Neighborhood Services on Friday, May 31, 2024 after 31 years of service to the city of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Don Schaewe started his career in public service as a supervisor in the City's Lead Poisoning Prevention Program when it was a model for the nation, and he would go on to hold various positions within both the Milwaukee Health Department and Department of Neighborhood Services that worked to uplift the quality of life for those across Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Don Schaewe has continued to serve his community outside of his work with the city including having been a member of the Board of Directors at the North Meadows/Woodlands, a member of the Board of Directors for Keep Greater Milwaukee Beautiful, serving on the Executive Board and Operations Committee of the Milwaukee Area Domestic Animal Control Commission for 18 years, among other commitments; and

WHEREAS, Don Schaewe richly and justly earned the enduring praise, respect and gratitude of his coworkers, friends, family and the community at large for his dedication and service to the Department of Neighborhood Services and to the City of Milwaukee, and performed with confidence and skill during his employment, completely meeting the challenges of his responsibilities on behalf of the city of Milwaukee; now, therefor be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Don Schaewe on his retirement from the Department of Neighborhood Services, commends him for his contributions and accomplishments, and wishes for him a happy, healthy and successful future; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Don Schaewe.

Introduced by Common Council members Scott Spiker, José G. Pérez, JoCasta Zamarripa, Andrea M. Pratt, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, Milele A. Coggs, Larresa Taylor, Marina Dimitrijevic, and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 11 2024.