BY ALDS. COGGS, HAMILTON, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

*Resolution congratulating Rhonda Manuel on her retirement from the Department of City Development.* 

## WHEREAS,

## **RHONDA MANUEL**

retired with pride and satisfaction as the neighborhood business development manager in the Department of City Development on August 29, 2018 after more than 18 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee; and

**WHEREAS**, Rhonda Manuel started working for the City in 1989 as an administrative specialist, and was subsequently promoted to personnel analyst of several City departments and then joined the Department of City Development in 1992 as the Director of Youth Initiatives, before retiring from the Department of City Development in 2018; and

**WHEREAS**, Rhonda Manuel has managed a wide variety of projects throughout her career, including assisting young people to find their first jobs and build skills that lead to successful employment and overseeing and assisting in the formation and operation of Milwaukee's Business Improvement Districts and Neighborhood Improvement Districts; and

**WHEREAS**, Rhonda Manuel ran the City's commercial revitalization grant programs, supporting investment in neighborhood commercial strips and spearheaded the City's Main Street program and served as project manager for the redevelopment of the Bronzeville neighborhood and was deeply involved in the establishment and operation of Bronzeville Week; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Rhonda Manuel on her retirement from the Department of City Development, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for her a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Rhonda Manuel.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 25, 2018.