BY ALDS. PEREZ, PRATT, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, COGGS, ZAMARRIPA, TAYLOR, SPIKER, STAMPER

*Resolution recognizing Cuatro Uno Cuatro Day as a part of Milwaukee's annual 414 Day celebration.* 

## WHEREAS,

## **CUATRO UNO CUATRO DAY**

was officially proclaimed a part of Milwaukee's 414 Day celebration during the Mercadera Market event at the 3<sup>rd</sup> Street Market Hall on April 14, 2024; and

WHEREAS, Cuatro Uno Cuatro Day is an extension and expansion of "414 Day" and holds immense significance for Milwaukee's Hispanic community through its acknowledgement and celebration of the invaluable contributions of the Hispanic community to Milwaukee's cultural fabric and economic vitality, while also honoring the City's diverse cultural heritage; and

WHEREAS, Cuatro Uno Cuatro Day was made possible through the efforts and inspiration of the Mercadera (meaning "female merchant") Market and its founders Galy Montes and Nataly Andrade, who recognized the need for a community where Latinas feel welcomed and included and where women would receive the confidence and empowerment needed to successfully grow their businesses and succeed in their communities; and

WHEREAS, Cuatro Uno Cuatro Day has become an integral part of Milwaukee's larger 414 Day celebration, which, since its official designation in 2012, is a city and statewide holiday dedicated to celebrating the City of Milwaukee with the hopes of inspiring individuals to take positive action to make Milwaukee an even better place to live, work, and call home; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes April 14 as Cuatro Uno Cuatro Day, celebrates the many contributions of Milwaukee's Hispanic community and Hispanic culture to the City, and extends its appreciation on behalf of the citizens of the City of Milwaukee to this important and vibrant community; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Mercadera Market.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Andrea M. Pratt, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, Milele A. Coggs, JoCasta Zamarripa, Larresa Taylor, Scott Spiker, and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 21, 2024.