BY ALDS. PEREZ, ZAMARRIPA, COGGS, MOORE, PRATT, CHAMBERS, WESTMORELAND, BROWER, SPIKER, STAMPER

Resolution recognizing United Community Center on 55 years of serving the community.

WHEREAS,

UNITED COMMUNITY CENTER

celebrated its 55th anniversary in 2025 and the milestone was recognized during the organization's annual celebration held May 2, 2025; and

WHEREAS, The United Community Center began in the late 1960s as an outreach program of the Milwaukee Christian Center, which was known as "The Spot," and by 1970, the Hispanic community wanted to assume control of the program and decided to separate from the Milwaukee Christian Center, leading to the creation of the United Community Spot, and later the United Community Center; and

WHEREAS, With strong leadership and the commitment of many staff members and volunteers, UCC has overcome many challenges in its decades of service, maintaining an awareness of the Hispanic cultural heritage of its constituency; and

WHEREAS, In 1991, UCC merged with the Bruce-Guadalupe Community School, a unique partnership and a model for successful community-based educational reform, and after this merger UCC then looked to broaden its mission to serve all Hispanics, including the elderly; and

WHEREAS, Additional capital campaigns and renovations throughout the 2000s allowed UCC to transform into a full service, state-of-the art organization serving more than 18,000 people per year while offering a range of programs and services that remain a vital, important part of life to many Hispanics and south side residents; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates United Community Center on its 55th anniversary and extends its sincere wishes for continued success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of the resolution be presented to representatives of the United Community Center for this exciting achievement.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, JoCasta Zamarripa, Milele A. Coggs, Robert J. Bauman, Sharlen P. Moore, Mark Chambers, Jr., Andrea M. Pratt, Lamont Westmoreland, Larresa Taylor, Scott Spiker, Alex Brower and Russell W. Stamper, II, and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 13, 2025.