BY ALDS. COGGS, PRATT, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, RAINEY, ZAMARRIPA, TAYLOR, BORKOWSKI, PÉREZ, SPIKER, STAMPER

Resolution congratulating Mia Moore on being named the 2024 Emerging Leader during the City of Milwaukee's Black History Month program.

WHEREAS,

## **MIA MOORE**

was presented with the 2024 Emerging Leader Award during a Black History Month celebration on February 27, 2024, at City Hall in recognition of her exceptional leadership skills and dedication to her community; and

WHEREAS, Mia Moore is a highly accomplished and ambitious senior and student leader at Rufus King High School in Milwaukee, serving as class president and as a member of the Superintendent's Student Advisory Council and Graduation Plus, while also having been named Youth of the Year by the Boys and Girls Clubs of Greater Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Mia Moore furthermore serves as the co-chair of the Milwaukee Youth Commission where she passionately works to give a voice to her peers and provide a platform for them to be heard and valued; and

WHEREAS, Mia Moore, driven by her strong faith and trust in God, has earned a reputation as a courageous and thoughtful leader through her steadfast displays of hard work and dedication and her unwavering commitment to making a positive impact in her community; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Mia Moore on being an Emerging Leader, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community for her exemplary service and leadership, and wishes for her health and success in all future endeavors; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Mia Moore, an outstanding and inspiring student, servant, and community leader.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Andrea M. Pratt, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, Khalif J. Rainey, JoCasta Zamarripa, Larresa Taylor, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Scott Spiker and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 27, 2024.