BY ALDS COGGS, SPIKER, PEREZ, BORKOWSKI, RAINEY, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, ZAMARRIPA, PRATT, STAMPER, WESTMORELAND

*Resolution expressing congratulations to Louise Young-Benson on the occasion of her* 70<sup>th</sup> *birthday.* 

## **LOUISE YOUNG-BENSON**

celebrated her 70<sup>th</sup> birthday with family and friends on July 30, 2023; and

*WHEREAS, Louise Young-Benson, a lifelong resident of Milwaukee and fixture in her community, was born on July 30, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin; and* 

**WHEREAS,** Louise Young-Benson is a woman of diverse talent and dedication, having not only begun her own business for the resale of African artifacts, The Talking Drum, but also having pioneered the "School to Work" program, which partners MPS schools with local businesses to expose children to the world of business; and

**WHEREAS,** Louise Young-Benson has dedicated a significant portion of her life to education and educational psychology, having spent many years not only as a school counselor to support and work with children, but also as a supervisor and administrator for school counseling programs; and

**WHEREAS**, Louise Young-Benson has been and continues to be a woman of faith, having held many leadership roles in her parish and with the Archdiocese of Milwaukee, and she continues to give back to the community of Milwaukee through her tireless volunteer and community work with AARP, MPS, and various community organizations; and

*WHEREAS, Louise Young-Benson is the beloved matriarch of a large family including her six children and seven grandchildren; now, therefore, be it* 

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Louise Young-Benson, a devoted citizen, on reaching her 70<sup>th</sup> birthday and extends for her its sincere wishes for continued health and happiness; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Louise Young-Benson in recognition of her  $70^{th}$  birthday.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Scott Spiker, José G. Pérez, Mark A. Borkowski, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, JoCasta Zamarripa, Andrea M. Pratt, Russell W. Stamper, II, and Lamont Westmoreland and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 31, 2023.