

City of Milwaukee

200 E. Wells Street Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

Meeting Minutes - Final

BOARD OF CITY SERVICE COMMISSIONERS

Frank Bock, President
Marilyn Miller, Vice President

Commissioners Janet Cleary and Steve Smith

Harper Donahue, IV, Executive Secretary Patrick McClain, Assistant City Attorney

Administrative Support Specialist, Elizabeth Moore, 414-286-3398. elmoor@milwaukee.gov

Tuesday, March 25, 2025 1:30 PM Virtual

This is a virtual meeting that will be conducted via Microsoft Teams and City Channel 25. Those wishing to view the proceedings via City Channel 25 can do so at http://city.milwaukee.gov/citychannel and use Live Stream 2.

Microsoft Teams

https://bit.ly/41OFDuv

Meeting ID: 281 902 013 541

Passcode: vB2mp9wS

414-251-0392

United States, Milwaukee

Phone conference ID: 435 538 109

Present 4 - Bock, Miller, Smith and Cleary

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting commenced at 1:30 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

All Commissioners were present.

3. 241832 Communication for the approval of the March 11, 2025 meeting minutes.

A motion was made by Janet Cleary, seconded by Steve Smith, that this Communication be APPROVED. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Bock, Miller, Smith, and Cleary

No 0

GENERAL HEARING

4. 241833

Communication from the Milwaukee Water Works to extend the temporary appointment for Miguel Herrera, Water Field Supervisor, for 90-days, from March 16, 2025 through June 21, 2025. This is the first extension request.

A motion was made by Marilyn Miller, seconded by Janet Cleary, that this Communication be APPROVED. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Bock, Miller, Smith, and Cleary

No 0

5. 241834

Communication from the Department of Public Works, Operations Division, to extend the temporary appointments for the following City Laborers:

from March 29, 2025 through December 19, 2025

- 1. Damonick Kemp
- 2. Samone Thomas
- 3. Paul Parker
- 4. Harold Patterson
- 5. Jerry Gray
- 6. Tony Wright

from April 12, 2025 through December 19, 2025

- 7. Lukele Hood
- 8. Trevell Jordan
- 9. Okeefer Hooker

from April 26, 2025 through December 19, 2025

10. Demonte Oliver

from May 24, 2025 through December 19, 2025

- 11. Nathaniel Wingo
- 12. Cameron Spencer
- 13. Kavion Kelly
- 14. Quadear Dorn
- 15. Obrey Hanes

from June 8, 2025 through December 19, 2025

- 16. Adrian Everett
- 17. Zerie Baker

from June 22, 2025 through December 19, 2025

18. Ivory Jones

19. Jackie Bledsoe

20. Avonte Carter

This is the first extension request.

A motion was made by Steve Smith, seconded by Janet Cleary, that this Communication be APPROVED with the amendment that Quadear Dorn's request be withdrawn as his temporary appointment ended on March 21, 2025. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Bock, Miller, Smith, and Cleary

No 0

6. <u>241835</u>

Communication from the Department of Neighborhood Services to extend the probationary period for Danae Lindsey, District Code Enforcement Supervisor, for 3-months, from April 28, 2025 through July 28, 2025.

A motion was made by Marilyn Miller, seconded by Janet Cleary, that this Communication be APPROVED. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Bock, Miller, Smith, and Cleary

No 0

7. 241836

Communication from the Department Neighborhood Services to extend the probationary period for Tina Hope, Office Assistant IV, for 3-months, from March 16, 2025 through June 16, 2025.

A motion was made by Janet Cleary, seconded by Steve Smith, that this Communication be APPROVED. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Bock, Miller, Smith, and Cleary

No 0

8. 241837

Communication from the Department of Public Works, Infrastructure Services Division, to extend the probationary period for Elias Zarate, Municipal Services Electrician, for 6-months, from April 7, 2025 through October 7, 2025.

A motion was made by Janet Cleary, seconded by Steve Smith, that this Communication be APPROVED. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Bock, Miller, Smith, and Cleary

No 0

ADJOURNMENT

Janet Cleary motioned to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Steve Smith. None opposed. All in favor. The motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 1:44 p.m.

In the event that Common Council members who are not members of this committee attend this meeting, this meeting may also simultaneously constitute a meeting of the Common Council or any of the following committees: Community and Economic Development, Finance and Personnel, Judiciary and Legislation, Licenses, Public Safety and Health, Public Works, Zoning, Neighborhoods & Development, and/or Steering and Rules. Whether a simultaneous meeting is occurring depends on whether the presence of one or more of the Common Council member results in a quorum of the Common Council or any of the above committees, and, if there is a quorum of another committee, whether any agenda items listed above involve matters within that committee's realm of authority. In the event that a simultaneous meeting is occurring, no action other than information gathering will be taken at the simultaneous meeting.

Upon reasonable notice, efforts will be made to accommodate the needs of persons with disabilities through sign language interpreters or auxiliary aids. For additional information or to request this service, contact the Executive Secretary to the City Service Commission 286-3335, (FAX)286-0800, (TDD)286-2960 or by writing to the Executive Secretary at Room 706, City Hall, 200 E. Wells Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202.

Persons engaged in lobbying as defined in s. 305-43-4 of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances are required to register with the City Clerk's Office License Division. Registered lobbyists appearing before a Common Council committee are required to identify themselves as such. More information is available at http://city.milwaukee.gov/Lobbying.