BY ALDS. COGGS, PÉREZ, BAUMAN, STAMPER, SPIKER, RAINEY, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BORKOWSKI

Resolution recognizing Josephine Hicks on the occasion of her 90th birthday.

WHEREAS,

JOSEPHINE HICKS

celebrated her 90th birthday with family and friends on March 27, 2023; and

WHEREAS, Josephine Hicks, a longtime resident of Milwaukee and fixture in her community, was born March 27, 1933, in Hennings, Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, Josephine Hicks owned and operated her family's restaurant, F & H Diner, with her sister and later her two daughters through relocations, name changes, ups and downs from 1961 until its eventual closure in 2007, and during her more than 45 years in business serving her community, has supported many in their personal endeavors, creating dreams, nurturing minds, and establishing family security; and

WHEREAS, Josephine Hicks and her business have been recognized both locally and nationally, receiving accolades and awards from prestigious institutions including but not limited to the Interior Business Center (formally the National Business Center) of Washington D.C., the Milwaukee Community Journal, the Wisconsin African-American Women's Center, as well as the Greater Milwaukee Business District; and

WHEREAS, Josephine Hicks, known affectionately as "Joe" by her siblings, has been and continues to be a woman of faith, having been a member of the Canaan Baptist Church of Milwaukee for over 65 years; and

WHEREAS, Josephine Hicks is the beloved matriarch of a blended family including four children of her own, four step-children, and many grandchildren; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Josephine Hicks, a fine citizen, on reaching her 90th birthday and extends for her its sincere wishes for continued health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Josephine Hicks in recognition of her 90th birthday.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Robert J. Bauman, Russell W. Stamper, II, Scott Spiker, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, and Mark A. Borkowski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 28, 2023.