BY ALDS. TAYLOR, PRATT, BORKOWSKI, SPIKER, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, RAINEY, ZAMARRIPA, PEREZ, COGGS, STAMPER

*Resolution recognizing Mary Hoehne for her dedicated work and contributions to the 2023 Granville Blues Festival.* 

WHEREAS,

## **MARY HOEHNE**

played a key role in the success of the 6<sup>th</sup> Annual Granville Blues Fest, which provided two July 2023 weekends of great live music, food, and fun in the Granville Business Improvement District #48 on Milwaukee's far northwest side; and

**WHEREAS**, Approximately 15,000 music lovers filled the parking lot at the former Stein Mart Center for four days over two weekends (July 22-23 and July 29-30) to enjoy local and regional live blues and jazz performers, with local restaurants providing the food, and more than 50 entrepreneurs and vendors selling goods; and

**WHEREAS**, The successful Granville Blues Fest is an annual event of the Granville Business Improvement District, whose mission is to enhance the economic viability of local businesses, enhance property values, maximize business facilities (general commerce, manufacturing, distribution, commercial and recreational), market and promote the friendliness and quality of services, enhance the community image through safety and beautification, and overall economic development and area growth; and

**WHEREAS**, With the help of Mary Hoehne and other leaders and volunteers, the Granville Blues Fest is a harmonious event that truly showcases the wonderful diversity and culture of Granville; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and thanks Mary Hoehne for her dedicated work and contributions to the 6<sup>th</sup> Annual Granville Blues Festival, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community and wishes her continued success and happiness; and, be it

*FURTHER RESOLVED*, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented Mary Hoehne, an outstanding citizen.

Introduced by Common Council members Larresa Taylor, Andrea M. Pratt, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, Khalif J. Rainey, JoCasta Zamarripa, José Pérez, Milele A. Coggs, and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 1, 2023.