BY ALDS. ZAMARRIPA, PRATT, CHAMBERS, BAUMAN, BROSTOFF, WESTMORELAND, COGGS, RAINEY, TAYLOR, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, SPIKER, STAMPER

Resolution recognizing and commemorating International Lesbian Visibility Day.

WHEREAS,

INTERNATIONAL LESBIAN VISIBILITY DAY

is a day to recognize and celebrate the contributions of lesbian women around the world. The day was created in 2008 to raise awareness of the issues faced by lesbians, and to encourage them to live authentically; and

WHEREAS, International Lesbian Visibility Day is celebrated annually on April 26, falling on a Friday this year; and

WHEREAS, International Lesbian Visibility Day is a day to recognize and celebrate the achievements, contributions, and unique experiences of lesbian women, and it is also a day to reflect on the challenges faced by these women, and to promote a greater understanding of the LGBTQ+ community; and

WHEREAS, The day was started in order to bring visibility to the struggles and successes of these women in the fight for equality, and International Lesbian Visibility Day also serves to create a safe space for lesbians and bisexual women to celebrate and express themselves: and

WHEREAS, Since its inception, International Lesbian Visibility Day has grown in popularity, with more and more countries and cities around the world celebrating the day; and

WHEREAS, By celebrating International Lesbian Visibility Day, we can create a culture of acceptance and inclusion, and help to create a more equal and just society for all, and the day marks an important step in the fight for lesbian rights and recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee hereby commemorates International Lesbian Visibility Day for its important place in society bringing awareness to all the good lesbians have done for the greater community while providing a safe space for them to be themselves.

Introduced by Common Council members JoCasta Zamarripa, Larresa Taylor, Russell W. Stamper, II, Milele A. Coggs, Andrea M. Pratt, Scott Spiker, Mark A. Borkowski, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, José G. Pérez, Robert J. Bauman, and Lamont Westmoreland and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 9, 2024.