BY ALDS. PEREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating the Greater Milwaukee Association of The Deaf on the occasion of its 100th anniversary.

WHEREAS,

GREATER MILWAUKEE ASSOCIATION OF THE DEAF

celebrated its 100th anniversary on November 10, 2018 at the Panos' Banquet Center, 20290 W. Bluemound Rd. in Brookfield; and

WHEREAS, The Milwaukee Silent Club was formed on December 1, 1918, in Milwaukee, at the YMCA at 4th and W. Wisconsin Ave. by 24 local deaf representatives, led by James Kearns who was the first Club president, and would later be renamed the Greater Milwaukee Association of the Deaf; and

WHEREAS, The Greater Milwaukee Association of the Deaf is a Wisconsin notfor-profit corporation, dedicated to the advancement of hearing-impaired individuals, which operates its social club for the exclusive use of its approximately 60 members and their friends and families; and

WHEREAS, The Greater Milwaukee Association of the Deaf is a place where citizens who are deaf or hard of hearing can gather and feel free to communicate in American Sign Language, and members and friends are able to communicate, share and educate each other during social activities or presentations such as GMADO (a playing card version of bingo), Texas Hold Em Poker Night, the Ladies' Annual Holiday Dinner, and business and public information meetings and other social events; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes the Greater Milwaukee Association of the Deaf on the occasion of its 100th anniversary, thanks the association for its many years of service and outstanding contributions to the community and wishes it many more years of success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Greater Milwaukee Association of the Deaf.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 5, 2018.