BY ALDS. RAINEY, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution in celebration of Progressive Baptist Church's 30th anniversary.

PROGRESSIVE BAPTIST CHURCH

celebrated its 30th anniversary during 2018; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1988 under the leadership of the Rev. Dr. Rolen Womack, Progressive Baptist Church is family oriented church with a commitment to serving and growing its membership and the community, and has a rich and progressive history of community service; and

WHEREAS, following Dr. Womack's retirement in 2011 the church called Rev. Walter J. Lanier, and under Rev. Lanier's leadership, Progressive Baptist Church has emerged as a critical community institution, and has shown it cares for the spiritual and physical needs of its neighbors through its commitment to numerous community project; and

WHEREAS, Progressive Baptist Church has formed partnerships with food programs such as Hunger Task Force, St. Benedict's Feed the Hungry Program, and has donated meals to families during Easter and Thanskgiving, and the church continues to inspire by showing support to service men and women, students in need of scholarships, and humanitarian aid across the globe to victims of disaster and destitution; and

WHEREAS, Progressive Baptist Church serves as a moral compass for the community, continuing to be a shepherd for Milwaukee which is a better place to live because of the service and example it provides; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Progressive Baptist Church on its 30th anniversary, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and extends wishes for its continued success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Progressive Baptist Church.

Introduced by Common Council members Khalif J. Rainey, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 25, 2018.