ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, DAVIS, WADE, PUENTE, STAMPER, BAUMAN, PEREZ, KOVAC.

Resolution recognizing Oshiyemi (Oshi) Adelabu for years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee.

WHEREAS,

OSHIYEMI (OSHI) ADELABU

was recognized for years of dedicated service at a "Bon Voyage" community celebration on November 15, 2014 at WI Black Historical Society, 2620 W. Center St.; and

WHEREAS, Oshiyemi (Oshi) Adelabu joined the Milwaukee Fire Department in 1976 and later received a Class A Merit Service Award for bravery in 1978 and in 1980; and

WHEREAS, In December 2002, Oshi was promoted to Captain during a historical ceremony where eight African-Americans, one Latino and one female were promoted; and

WHEREAS, Oshiyemi (Oshi) Adelabu is a member and past-president of the International Association of Black Professional Fire Fighters and is also a graduate of the "Dr. Carl Holmes" Executive Development Institute program, a platform designed to enhance the professional knowledge and competency of the fire officers in career planning; and

WHEREAS, Oshiyemi (Oshi) Adelabu was affiliated with several organizations that helped young athletes excel, including, the Salvation Army Panthers, Central City Scholarship Committee, Hillside Boys and Girls Club, Athletes for Youth and the Midwest Minority Officials Basketball Association; and

WHEREAS, Oshiyemi (Oshi) Adelabu is distinguished for being a mentor and activist, and is also acknowledged for his leadership as the co-founder of 100 Black Men of Milwaukee, the past vice-president of NAACP Milwaukee Chapter and the past president of African World Festival; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Oshiyemi (Oshi) Adelabu, thanks him for his many positive contributions to the city and wishes for him continued prosperity; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Oshiyemi (Oshi) Adelabu.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Joe Davis, Sr., Willie C. Wade, Robert W. Puente, Russell W. Stamper, II, Robert J. Bauman, Jose G. Perez and Nik Kovac and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 25, 2014.