BY ALDS PEREZ, COGGS, TAYLOR. PRATT, STAMPER, ZAMARRIPA, SPIKER, BORKOWSKI, RAINEY, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, MURPHY

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Ramona Rivas.

WHEREAS,

RAMONA RIVAS

passed from this life on October 13, 2023 at the age of 70 and services were held in her memory on October 24, 2023 at Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish, 605 S. 4th St.; and

WHEREAS, Ramona Rivas was born on July 13,1953 to her loving parents Ramon and Mercedes in Milwaukee, and was a shining example of a loving person who cared deeply for her family and community; and

WHEREAS, Ramona received her formal education from Escuela Vieau, Centro Cultural Educativo Chicano-Boriqua School through Pius XI High School, graduating in 1973, demonstrating her commitment to learning and growth, and leading her as she dedicated many years as a City of Milwaukee Crossing Guard, community organizations, and as a consistent and active church member; and

WHEREAS, Ramona's fervent dedication to community leadership, her relentless efforts in community building, and her passionate advocacy for civil rights serve as a testament to her unwavering commitment to the betterment of society, and her role as a labor union negotiator and south side community activist further underscore her profound impact on the local community; and

WHEREAS, Ramona is survived by her children, Ramona Ramos, Christine Gonzalez, Mariano Gonzalez, Carissa Lozano (preceded in death by daughter Monica Gonzalez), and she was also the beloved grandmother of 23 grandchildren and five great-grandchildren, leaving behind a cherished legacy of love and family; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith offers its sincere condolences to the family and friends of Ramona Rivas, an upstanding woman of faith and family; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of the resolution be presented to the family of Ramona Rivas.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, JoCasta Zamarripa, Milele A. Coggs, Larresa Taylor, Andrea M. Pratt, Russell W. Stamper, II, Scott Spiker, Mark A. Borkowski, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, and Michael J. Murphy and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 31, 2023.